Sky Sports Living for Sport Student of the Year shortlist revealed

Wed 30th Jan '13

Over the last few months, the search has been on to find the Sky Sports Living for Sport Student of the Year 2012 – and now the list of finalists can be revealed.

The Awards, which recognise the efforts of students and teachers during 2012, have two categories: Student of the Year and Teacher of the Year. They celebrate the successful way secondary schools are using sport to inspire young people, thanks to their involvement in Sky Sports Living for Sport.

The Awards offer schools across the UK, which have registered and delivered a Sky Sports Living for Sport project during the 2011/12 academic year, the chance to shine a light on their pupils’ sporting journeys and share their stories of success.

Twelve regional finalists have been invited to attend the national Awards ceremony at Sky Studios in London on Friday 15 March 2013, where Olympic gold medal winning sprinter and Sky Sports Living for Sport Ambassador Darren Campbell will be presenting the overall Student of the Year Award 2012.

The regional finalists are:

Scotland: David Edmeades, Perth Grammar School, Perth              

North West: Ben Clark, Kingsland School, Failsworth, Manchester            

North East: Emma Barnwell, All Saints School, Stockton-On-Tees

Yorkshire & the Humber: Justice Dje, Balby Carr Community Sports & Science College, Doncaster

East Midlands: Iqra Shah, Frederick Gent School, Alfreton, Derbyshire                

West Midlands: Alex Griffiths, Earl Mortimer College, Leominster, Herefordshire                        

Northern Ireland: Fionnuala O'Hagan, St Mary’s Grammar School, Magherafelt, County Derry  

 Wales: Dylan McLachlan, Llandary Community Centre, Llandarcy, Neath              

East of England: Wayne Instrell, Bedford Academy, Bedford

London: Maaryiah Atta, Brentford School for Girls, Brentford, Middlesex            

South West: Alan Townley, Kingdown School, Warminster, Wiltshire                    

South East: Cassidy Rolfe-Yates, Perins School, Alresford, Hampshire                  

Thrilled with the overall quality of entries received for the Awards, Darren Campbell commented: “All twelve of these pupils are hugely deserving of their awards. In my role as ambassador I have seen firsthand how much of an impact Sky Sports Living for Sport is having on young people throughout the UK. It’s great to hear how these pupils’ attitudes towards both sport and education have shifted and to see them putting into practice the skills that they have learnt which will help them to succeed in the future.”

The Student of the Year 2012 will receive a £100 sports voucher and his or her school will also receive an extra visit from an Athlete Mentor and £2,000 towards their school’s next Sky Sports Living for Sport project.

The regional finalists will each receive a £50 sports voucher, a year’s free Sky Sports subscription for the student and school, a trophy and certificate, as well as the chance to be interviewed by a Sky Sports film crew. The school will also secure an extra visit from an Athlete Mentor and £500 towards their next Sky Sports Living for Sport project. 

Related stories


Project of the Year Shortlist

Find out which projects have been shortlisted for this year's Sky Sports Living for Sport UK & Ireland Project of the Year

Sky Sports Scholarships

Sky Sports Scholarships Granted to Top Young Athletes

Sky Sports have launched a new scholarship scheme to support twelve young athletes from Britain and Ireland in realising their sporting potential.

Alex Griffiths, West Midlands Regional Finalist

MP visits West Midlands Student of the Year

Bill Wiggin MP for North Herefordshire paid a school visit to meet award winning Earl Mortimer College student Alex Griffiths.

Lesley Reynolds - Teacher finalist

Leicester teacher named UK Teacher of the Year

Leicestershire-based PE teacher, Lesley Reynolds of Brockington College in Enderby, has today been named the Sky Sports Living for Sport Teacher of the Year 2012. 

boxing masterclass

Boxing Masterclass with Charlie Webster, Johnny Nelson and Kell Brook

Sheffield's boxing stars past and present put their gloves on to give local youngsters a lesson for Sky Sports Living For Sport.