Teacher Finalists Announced for Sky Sports Living for Sport Teacher of the Year Award

Thu 21st Feb '13

Over the last few months, the search has been on to find the Sky Sports Living for Sport Teacher of the Year 2012 – and now the list of finalists can be revealed.

The Awards, which recognise the efforts of students and teachers during 2012, have two categories: Student of the Year and Teacher of the Year. They celebrate the successful way secondary schools are using sport to inspire young people, thanks to their involvement in Sky Sports Living for Sport, a free initiative delivered in partnership with the Youth Sport Trust.

The Awards offer schools across the UK, which have registered and delivered a Sky Sports Living for Sport project during the 2011/12 academic year, the chance to shine a light on their pupils’ sporting journeys and share their stories of success.

Three teacher finalists have been invited to attend the national Awards ceremony at Sky Studios in London on Friday 15 March 2013, where Olympic gold medal winning sprinter and Sky Sports Living for Sport Ambassador Darren Campbell will be presenting the overall Student of the Year Award 2012.

The teacher finalists are:

Alan Keane: Lampton School, Hounslow

Lesley Reynolds, Brockington College, Leicestershire

Natalie Wilsher, The Sele School, Hertford

Thrilled with the overall quality of entries received for the Awards, Darren Campbell commented: “All three of these teachers are hugely deserving of their awards. In my role as ambassador I have seen firsthand how much of an impact Sky Sports Living for Sport is having on young people throughout the UK.

“The finalists have set a fantastic example to all PE teachers across the UK. Their commitment to their school’s Sky Sports Living for Sport projects has helped their pupils to develop important life skills which will help them to succeed in the future.”

Find out which students have been nominated for student of the year award